DII ADA Honors 24 Montevallo Student-Athletes

DII ADA Honors 24 Montevallo Student-Athletes

CLEVELAND – Twenty-four Montevallo student-athletes were honored by the Division II Athletics Directors Association for their academic achievements. The student-athletes were honored with the 2010-11 DII ADA Academic Achievement Awards.

The following student-athletes were given the distinguished honor.

From baseball: Josh Headley (Gardendale, Ala./Gardendale)

From women’s basketball: Taylor Welch (Salem, Ill./Salem Community)

From women’s cross country: Ginny Davis (Madison, Ala./Bob Jones) and Katherine Schofield (Lawrenceville, Ga./Brookwood)

From men’s golf: Aaron Ebert (Huron, Ohio/St. Mary's Central Catholic), Gonzalo Gambertoglio (Cordoba, Argentina/Instituto General San Martin), Mariano Lepori (Posadas, Argentina) and Ruwaldt Viljoen (Johannesburg, South Africa/Dainfern College)

From men’s soccer: Vance Curro (Hoover, Ala./Spain Park), David Esser (Birmingham, Ala./Oak Mountain), Andrew Nichols (Jacksonville, Fla./Mandarin), Milan Pualic (Subotica, Serbia/Srednja Ekonosmka Skola School), Michael Riggle (Louisville, Ky./St. Xavier) and James Steer (Sheffield, England/Westfield School)

From women’s soccer: Paige Scott (Denman Island, British Columbia/Reynolds) and Alex Terhar (Cincinnati, Ohio/Ursuline Academy)

From women’s tennis: Kodi Bobo (Cullman, Ala./West Point), Helene Nordgreen (Bergen, Norway/Bergen Handels Gymnasium), Calli Robinson (Adel, Ga./Cook) and Yulia Shvetsova (Huntsville, Ala./Bob Jones)

From volleyball: Virginia Clay (Fort Collins, Colo./Poudre), Anna Garrison (LaVergne, Tenn./LaVergne), Jessica Guidry (Fort Walton Beach, Fla./Fort Walton Beach) and Betsy Stevenson (DeFuniak Springs, Fla./Walton)

Ninety-eight institutions sent in nominees for the 2010-11 Academic Achievement Awards, while a total of 3,676 student-athletes are being recognized this year.  The Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) had 434 student-athletes honored, a record-high for the program, followed by the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) with 381 nominees. The NSIC previously held the record for most student-athletes honored with 391 in 2008-09.

The Peach Belt Conference had honorees from five institutions including Montevallo. USC Aiken led the way with 47 honorees while the Falcons finished second in the conference with 24.   

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution MUST BE a CURRENT dues paying member of the DII ADA. 

Also, the student-athlete must:

• have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale
• have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work
• have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year