DII ADA Honors 22 Montevallo Student-Athletes

DII ADA Honors 22 Montevallo Student-Athletes

>>>Complete DII ADA Release

CLEVELAND - Twenty-two Montevallo student-athletes were honored by the Division II Athletics Directors Association for their academic achievements. The student-athletes were honored with the 2008-09 DII ADA Academic Achievement Awards presented by WeatherPORT.

The following student-athletes were given the distinguished honor.

From men's soccer: Milan Pualic (Subotica, Serbia/Srednja Ekonosmka Skola School), James Steer (Sheffield, England/Westfield School), David Esser (Birmingham, Ala./Oak Mountain), Jim Witherow (Huntsville, Ala./Grissom) and Michael Riggle (Louisville, Ky./St. Xavier).

From women's soccer Lucrece Laverdure (Melbourne, Australia/Sacre Coeur School for Girls), Adele Jackson (Lincolnshire, England/John Leggott College), Laura Alford (Brandon, Miss./Northwest Rankin), Alex Terhar (Cincinnati, Ohio/Ursuline Academy), Erin Duncan (Windermere, Fla./Olympia), Brittany Correia (Birmingham, Ala./Oak Mountain), Nicole Cho-Yee (London, England/St. Dominic's) and Corey Gros (Victoria, British Columbia/Lambrick Park).

From women's volleyball Lauren Markle (Metamora, Ill./Peoria Notre Dame), Lauren Tortorici (Birmingham, Ala./Oak Mountain) and Monika Tortorici (Birmingham, Ala./Oak Mountain).

From women's cross country Lindsey Golay (Sharpsville, Ga./Northgate) and Brooke Deason (Trussville, Ala./Hewitt-Trussville).

From men's golf: Ruwaldt Viljoen (Johannesburg, South Africa/Dainfern College) and Tripp Cash (Troy, Ala./Pike)

From women's golf Rachel Shaner (Madison, Ala./Bob Jones) and Britney Martin (Fishers, Ind./Hamilton Southeastern).

The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level.

One hundred and sixteen institutions sent in nominees for the 2008-09 Academic Achievement Awards, up from the 67 institutions that participated last year. There are a total of 4,041 student-athletes being recognized this year. A year ago, 2,155 student-athletes were honored. The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference had a record number 391 student-athletes honored, followed by the Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) with 365 nominees.

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution MUST BE a CURRENT dues paying member of the DII ADA.

Also, the student-athlete must:

  • have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale
  • have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work have
  • been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year