#19 Saints Top Falcons for PBC Title, 3-1

#19 Saints Top Falcons for PBC Title, 3-1

EVANS, Ga. – In a rematch of the 2010 Peach Belt Conference Championship match, the University of Montevallo men's soccer team (12-4-4) fell to #19 Flagler College (15-3-2), 3-1. The Saints take the 2011 Peach Belt Conference Tournament Championship for the first time in program history after advancing to the title game and falling the past two seasons. UM led at halftime 1-0 after freshman Giuliano Frano (Mississauga, Ontario/St. Marcellinus) put the Falcons ahead by firing in a rebound off a corner kick. The Saints used three second half goals to take the win.

In a very physical match that featured 10 cards the Falcons found themselves on the short end of many of the calls as UM accounted for seven of the 10 cards including the lone red card issued.

UM took the lead in the match 30 minutes into the first half as senior Tyson Eyo (Liverpool, England/Florida Tech) sent a corner kick into the box. Junior Ricky Davey (Exeter, England/Appalachian State University) headed the ball off the far post and Frano found the rebound and beat the keeper for the early lead.

The match would head into halftime with the Falcons ahead 1-0. Flagler had the lead in shots 8-6 and shots on goal 2-1.

Just 10:30 into the second half the Saints struck to tie the game as Will Frandsen scored the first of his two goals off a Joseph Toby cross. Twelve minutes later Frandsen scored again as Johan Bergfeld crossed the ball into the box. Toby flicked the ball across to Frandsen and he fired it past the keeper for the go-ahead goal.

The final goal came just five minutes later as Pol Berenguer headed a free kick off the post to seal the victory. The Falcons tried to get back in the match but playing a man down and with many players carrying a yellow card the goals did not come.

The shots were tied in the second half 7-7 while FC had a 6-2 advantage in shots on goal.

Sophomore Brendan Ledgeway (York, England/All Saints) made five saves in the loss as his record fell to 11-4-4 on the season.

Ledgeway, Frano and Eyo were all named to the All-Tournament team for their play throughout the competition.

The Falcons will now await the announcement of the 2011 NCAA Tournament field which will take place tomorrow night at 6 p.m.